My renewed & increased respect for teachers !!

My title actually holds even more weight than you think as I’ve always had a huge amount of respect for teachers. Having been at GCC for 8 years since Jaz started Prep, I’ve always been quite involved with each of my children’s teachers, and have always found them to be dedicated, enthusiastic and caring. But, it hasn’t been until this week and last, stepping into this supervisory role with my children’s schooling at home, that I’ve realised just how mentally exhausting it is supervising children’s education. And I’ve only got 3…. they deal with 30 !!
I’m big on having scripture around my house… and I’m constantly reminded of the following scripture since beginning our homeschooling journey last week.

Deuteronomy 6:6-7 ESV
And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.

The reason this particular scripture is so pertinent is because we’re looking at this journey as not just being about our children’s education, but a whole new lifestyle. We don’t just want to have this situation where we school in the morning at home, but basically every other part of out lives as a family are no different from before. We want the education, family time, fellowship, time in The Word, worship time, discipline, church, household chores etc etc etc to all meld together. Not separate times and slots for different things.

There is all sorts of ‘responsible’ reasons why I think homeschooling my children is the way to go, but it’s all hugely evident to me what an absolute PRIVILEGE it is to be the one supervising my children’s education.
Yes, I’m exhausted on this Thursday night… and I’m totally hanging out for lunchtime t’row when I know I can rest until Monday…. but I know that I know that I know that very struggle is worth it, every sore muscle is worth it, every hour sitting in our schoolroom is worth it !!!!
Exodus 33:14 ESV / 59
And he said, β€œMy presence will go with you, and I will give you REST.” (Emphasis mine).

Night peeps….. Yes, it’s 7.05pm… but Yes, I”m going to bed. LOL xox

