My Testimony….  The interesting part that comes after being brought up in a Christian family, meeting Terry, having 3 children etc etc etc.  Yes, there’ll be another blog (or several) one day to fill in those blanks. :0)  I wrote this in late 2012 !!

 Oct 16, 2011.. My first time hearing David Thomas preach., and my first time being taught on the spiritual realm. If I had ever asked for my eyes to be opened.. They were that day.

 When I look back to that day in Oct last year, I have to think.. Why did I not think “this is nuts!” and go back to my little safe bubble of an existence, ignoring this ‘Mumbo jumbo’ stuff ?

It was literally like the eyes of my heart were opened and I haven’t wanted to close them since. Believe me, I hv wanted to close them to other things tho.. Like people who question my beliefs on this subject.. Those who think that it truly IS Mumbo jumbo. But.. As much as I wanted to close my eyes to them..  The much stronger desire was to study God’s word, as well as examine my own life and how the spiritual realm ties in with that, so that I can speak into those ‘blinker wearing believers’ lives with authority, knowledge and a ‘Jesus’ kinda passion.

I hv always known of ‘Satan’ or ‘the devil’. He has always been a part of the teachings from my parents, but I must say I think I did hv the view that basically, if I was a good person .. I didn’t really need to worry about him. I kinda saw it like this… If you’re a good person.. You deal with God.. If you are a bad person.. You deal with Satan.

I had heard that saying “I wanna be the kinda woman that when my feet hit the floor each morning, I want Satan to say “Oh no, she’s up!” I guess I thought it was a cute & witty saying.. But once again, my interpretation of it was… I’m going to be so good that Satan won’t feel the need to be anywhere near me… That way, I’d be protected from him.

Little did I know how naive I was.

I also never attached much emotion to Satan. To be perfectly honest, I imagined him as a pretty unhappy bloke . I never attached anger to him… but sadness, sullenness maybe.

One of the first scriptures I heard on the subject was John 10:10.. The thief comes only to steal, kill & destroy. That is FULL-ON !! Those sorts of words… Steal, kill, destroy.. Those words don’t go hand in hand with emotions like sadness and sullenness .. They go with emotions like hatred & anger.

This was a huge wake up call for me.. The enemy, as he was quite clearly to me by this point, not someone I could just ‘be good enough to avoid’.

Jump 12 months down the track… and now I love to upset the enemy.. That might sound strange, or upset some people, but when you KNOW what most upsets the enemy… All you want to do is do it !  I want to live that slogan .. I want to speak God’s word in all things that I do, be that light shining in the darkness, so that when I’m standing before my Heavenly Father.. I want to hear so desperately these words “Well done, my good & faithful servant.” I may very well hv not heard that if I had stayed in my hazy eyes closed state.. Hoping to never be ‘bad’ enough to ever have to deal with Satan. Hiding & ignoring that the enemy is real is not the answer.

Now, as I said, I grew up knowing the devil was real, but I think I saw him as a one man show. Why would I hv ever considered that there was a spiritual realm in existence if I just saw him as just him.. With no followers? When my eyes were opened to what is really going on around us.. I probably should hv been totally freaked out over it… But I wasn’t because for every minion of the enemy I hv ever seen, there has always been such a fierce warrior angel between me & them, that I hv honestly never experienced any fear of them. There is just a touch on the good, or let’s not hold back, but say downright awesome side of the spiritual realm.  We are dealing with the forces of the enemy, yes.. but we are also protected by the God’s loving (but FIERCE) angels .. At ALL times.

After I was Baptised this year, I went before God and asked for baptism of the Holy Spirit. Now, yes, I of course knew the Holy Spirit dwelt within me from the point of my salvation.. But the only way I can explain it to you is that I hadn’t asked for the activation of that presence.  Once I did… Man, there must hv been some high 5ing & boot scooting going on in the heavenlys that day coz I was awakened in soo many ways from that day forward.  My hunger & thirst were awakened.. i wanted knowledge.. but not just textbook, bible or well known christian author knowledge.. I wanted HEART KNOWLEDGE !! I began to crave a close FRIENDSHIP with my Heavenly Father .. And to my HUGE delight.. I began to have it.

I also asked that day for the activation of my spiritual giftings.. One in particular.. To be able to speak in tongues.. Now.. Right there is a pretty powerful segment of my story as I was actually never interested in speaking in tongues.. It’s not that I had anything against it when used correctly etc, but I honestly didn’t see the point (yes, slap slap). When I discovered the level of intimacy and communion that I could hv with God, I wanted to open that door as wide as I could. I wanted to experience that kind of closeness, that intimacy that I would hear others talk of. Now.. Did God activate all my giftings at that time?? No way.. Why not? Because He gives us what we need for EACH day.. In my naivety, did I want it all that night that I first asked? Probably, yes. But, I’m able to look back now… An inch along my infinitely long journey with God, that had he hit me with it all that day .. I very well may hv freaked out.

Back to the giftings I asked to hv activated. When I asked for the ability to speak in tongues.. I recieved one phrase straight away. To this day, it is the only phrase I hv been given. Hv I got a bit frustrated about that? Yes, in June, at PAS 1, when others were ‘so proficient’, I did feel like surely I must be doing something wrong to hv not been given any more. But, God did answer one question for me that day .. He told me what the phrase meant. I can’t tell you what that did to me.. To this day, I can honestly say that I don’t mind if He doesn’t give me anything else. I can glorify Him with the phrase I hv been given and He smiles on me every time I say it.

I don’t just love God, I LOVE loving God.

Another verse I was to hear that first day I heard David preach was – greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world. (1 John 4:4 KJV). 

I actively SEEK AN ENCOUNTER with the Holy Spirit now! Some believers have issues with that statement.. But I’m standing by it because my testimony speaks to the need for us as God’s chosen ones to do that each day. Yes, the Holy Spirit was abiding in me from salvation.. But I had to actively SEEK him to discover his ultimate benefit in my life. To discover exactly how amazingly I could encounter Him. If we don’t seek Him, we are missing out on the fullness of the relationship we can hv with the triune God.

 Amazing activation effects.. Prayer life, praise & worship, scripture. It’s all magnified to me… What was, to a large degree, just words..  Now MEAN so much to me.

 Growing up with Keith Green & Don Fransisco songs.. Spiritual warfare messages like Keith Green’s songs ‘Lies’, ‘The sheep and the goats’ and ‘Cut the Devil down’…  but most memorable one being a Don Fransisco song entitled ‘The Package’.  Feel free to google the lyrics….   I believe you’ll be truly blessed by them.

 Another big eye opener for me… Isaiah 61 …  I have loved digging deep into this and finding out some of the Hebrew meanings…  it will blow you away, as it did me.

 Isaiah 61

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,

to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor
    and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
    instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
    instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
    instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the Lord
    for the display of his splendor.

They will rebuild the ancient ruins
    and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
    that have been devastated for generations.

Strangers will shepherd your flocks;
    foreigners will work your fields and vineyards.

And you will be called priests of the Lord,
    you will be named ministers of our God.
You will feed on the wealth of nations,
    and in their riches you will boast.

Instead of your shame
    you will receive a double portion,
and instead of disgrace
    you will rejoice in your inheritance.
And so you will inherit a double portion in your land,
    and everlasting joy will be yours.

“For I, the Lord, love justice;
    I hate robbery and wrongdoing.
In my faithfulness I will reward my people
    and make an everlasting covenant with them.

Their descendants will be known among the nations
    and their offspring among the peoples.
All who see them will acknowledge
    that they are a people the Lord has blessed.”

I delight greatly in the Lord;
    my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
    and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
    and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

For as the soil makes the sprout come up
    and a garden causes seeds to grow,
so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness
    and praise spring up before all nations.

So much more meaning that we get from them at first read.

 ‘Sent’ as in Sent me to bind up the brokenhearted’ in Hebrew is the word Shalack, meaning ‘to shoot forth’

 Bind up the BROKENhearted.  The word broken in Hebrew is Shavah, meaning ‘to burst, break into pieces, wreck, crush, smash, to tend, tear in pieces (like a wild beast).

 BIND UP the brokenhearted – Hebrew word for bind up is Chavash, meaning ‘to bind on, wrap around, bind up as a wound, bandage, cover, envelope, enclose. (To compress, to stop.)

 & finally… other scriptures that have become important to me !!

 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. (Ephesians 6:12-17 NIV)

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. (1 Peter 5:8, 9 NIV)

As for God, his way is perfect: The Lord’s word is flawless; he shields all who take refuge in him. (Psalm 18:30 NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6, 7 NIV)

Blessings Peeps… now go and bathe your eyes coz they’re probs about to fall out of your heads… so sorry it was sooooo long.  xox

 

