Hi all.  This is part 2 of what happened on Tuesday…  what was supposed to be Dad’s surgery day !!  His long awaited, much fought for surgery !

Anyway.. in the pics shown in part 1, we were under the impression that if Dad wasn’t already in surgery, he was very close to going in… turns out he wasn’t in at all.. he was upstairs in pre-op having a very bad panic attack!

As soon as we found this out, we rushed back up.. Mum, the 3 kids and I.  While I set the kids up with iPads in the waiting room, which Thank The Lord was right outside where Dad was…  Mum went in to find Dad extremely upset.. in tears.. miserable.  This was at about 3pm ish.  His surgery was supposed to be at 1pm.. he’d been fasted since midnight, which really means dinner the night before.  Poor fella was starving !!

Finally at 4.30, we were told that not only was the surgery cancelled, but the battery replacements that were to be fitted were still in SYDNEY !!  Let’s just say, we were a bit P-I-S-E-D  (joke from Rome & Michelle’s high school reunion movie).  I mean seriously, if the batteries were still in Sydney, they would have known that before he’d even been transported by taxi from transition care that morning.  Putting aside how damaging emotionally this ordeal was for Dad… what about the huge waste of tax payer money etc etc.

Then, can you believe it, it actually got worse when they had no bed for Dad anywhere.  We were so mad with PA hospital by the point, but I do have to say that the nursing staff and community health nurse were more than helpful…  they were also very angry about Dad’s treatment and really bent over backwards to fix this as best they could.

I had to leave at 6ish to get my kids home…  walking to the train station before it was dark.  At this point, we had literally no idea when a bed would be found and Mum could go home, so I thought I needed to get the kids home, who by that point had been there for 8.5hrs.  We got home at about a quarter past 7 and by that time, a bed had been miraculously found for Dad at the PA.

He has now this morning returned to transition care until his re-booked surgery next Thursday.  We’ll definitely be putting some phone calls in that morning though before transporting him over again.. making sure the batteries are actually in the state.

We have since found out that Dad’s neurosurgeon, Dr Sarah Olsen, has resigned a few weeks back because of patients being treated exactly as Dad was on Tuesday…like an unimportant number.. not a person.

OK.. rant over.. now to be positive and put my focus back on GOD’S plans for Dad.. which let’s face it, is what I should have done all along.

I’m going to share my download from Tuesday nights journaling. My question to God … Why did this happen today ?? First response… I’m not allowed to ask ‘why?’. Lol. He always pulls me up on that one.
Anyway moving on… Here’s what I got..

“I am carrying Ken ! I surround him. He is protected, he is loved. He is my son. I love him & he loves Me. I am his resting place, his fortress, his ever present strength in times of trouble. Have faith in ME, not in man, and the works of man. My love is constant, unrelenting, loud & heavy.

**********************************************************************************

Not hard to see how I felt so much better after this journalling, plus the praise & worship time I had on Tuesday night.

God is GOOD !!!

 

