Sooooooo… I’m in the process… towards the end of the process as I tend to jump into something once I’ve decided.. to ‘Go the Paleo way’. The more I research it, the better it looks !!
In these last few months in particular, I have been so unhappy with the way I feel in my own body.. and it’s not just about what size I am… I feel 100yrs old some of the time… my hips, knees and ankles ache, plus I’m having trouble with one of my shoulders. I simply feel ridiculous that I suffer from these type of joint issues at 38 !! I know I eat reasonably well, but of course I have the odd slip up.. and mostly it’s because I’VE BOUGHT IT INTO THE HOUSE !!! My bad !! The good thing about that is that it’s easily fixed.. JUST DON’T BUY IT !!
Fruits-and-Veggies
I have read so much information even just today that makes me so excited to get into this healthier lifestyle… I can almost taste how much better I’m going to feel.
It’s going to be tough while away, but I can only do my best with what I have. I’m glad we’re doing the ‘self catered’ holiday option, as it gives me so much room to eat/cook healthy.
The two things that concerned me the most when I started on this research journey were :
1. What do we have for breakfast when Cereals & bread are out? Well, in my searching, I’ve found this..
Breakfast Salad with Eggs Over Easy
I think this may become one of my ‘breakfast of choice’ when I need something in a rush. Plus it’s a good source of protein and vegetables to start the day. If I can have the veggies already cleaned, chopped and stored in the refrigerator it can take less than 5 minutes to put this breakfast together.
Breakfast-Salad-with-Eggs-Over-Easy-1024x768
For those that are interested… Here’s how you prepare it.
Melt some grass-fed butter or coconut oil in a small frying pan over medium high heat.
Crack two eggs and cover, then prepare your salad on a plate.
Combine fresh baby spinach, peppers, onion, carrots, tomato, celery, avocado, broccoli or any of your favorite vegetables.
Cook the eggs to your preferred doneness; I like mine over easy (the juices from the egg run over the veggies and create a delicious dressing as you eat).
Season your salad with some sea salt and pepper, maybe a touch of avocado or olive oil and any other seasonings. Top it off with your two eggs and enjoy.

I mean seriously… how easy does that sound !! I also found this.. I think the kids will LOVE these.
Paleo-Banana-Nut-Pancakes-1024x768

My 2nd concern was lunch…. How do I substitute bread? I couldn’t believe it when I saw such an obvious idea of using lettuce leaves as your bread when making wraps (which is a meal we have a LOT). I think I’ll enjoy finding lots of great recipes for the kids & me to enjoy during the school day. I found the above recipes on a great blog site by a Mum just like me, so it’ll be fantastic to follow her blog and see how she does the Paleo way as a family.

I do think that DH will struggle with the smaller dinner size idea, as he likes to come home from work and eat a big meal, but I’m hoping he’ll notice the benefits in his own body in a positive way so that he sees the benefits of the change in routine. I will have to form a new brekky routine though and get up when he does and eat as a family as opposed to us eating a little later after he’s left. I suspect that I if I leave him to his own devices, he’ll revert to Weetbix each morning. I can’t see him cooking himself an egg… but who knows, maybe he’ll surprise me.

I’m pretty excited about this to be honest… I mean, getting healthier is of course appealing, but finding ways to make our food choices super yummy and appealing will be a challenge that I’ll enjoy taking on. Having made the decision to not purchase anything Halal Certified a few months back, out grocery purchases won’t need to change as much as they would have prior to this. I just need to source a good organic home delivery mob, and I’ll be all set.

Now, of course, I am going to go before The Lord with this first, before making any final decisions. One area I have been feeling convicted in is not having taken every decision before HIM !! Not just the big ones, but the little day to day ones too, so I’m going to head upstairs now, spend some time with my Heavenly Father, do some journalling… and continue to seek His guidance on this. I do realise, however, that I am simply choosing to live a healthy life for our family, not some diet fad, so of course that in itself is His will for us, but still… I’m trying to best to bring EVERYTHING before Him.

Of course, I’ll be keeping you all posted… as I’m sure you’re sitting on the edge of your seat with the fascination of our lives… Bahahahahahahaha.

Blessings peeps xox

