Seriously, the school holidays just draaaaaaag on so much.  I’m sure if I could drive, we’d be here there and everywhere during every school hols, but being stuck at home just makes you feel like you may as well be doing schoolwork.  surprise surprise, the kiddos don’t feel the same way.

blessed1-e1321297902520

We’ve certainly been enjoying the catchups with friends though.  We spent the day with some lovely friends yesterday who have recently moved house, so it was lots of fun to explore their new property etc.  We came home with a few spoils from their garden…  some cuttings and fruit etc.

We have similar age kiddos, with an extra youngster thrown in in their family, so everybody loves being together.. and has a buddy to pair off with.

And then today we’ve had another great family come to visit with us at our place.  Similar situation where there’s lots of kids to buddy up with… the kids just love it… and the Mums do too.

These great times with great friends really brings it home to me that I am hugely blessed in the sisters in Christ department.  It really blows me away when you look back over the years and see how God brings people into your lives at particular times and those friends help you in ways that you just wouldn’t have ever expected or anticipated.  Actually both of these friends I have seen today and yesturday have actually been my friends for probably 10yrs-ish but we’ve really only become very close in the last two years or so.  It’s amazing how God works things in your life in the exact way that you need it.

92e366b2e0839885287e856a6f6ef8c3

With so much negativity around us these days, it’s beyond a blessing to have such Godly women surrounding me.  I know I probably say these types of things all the time in my blog entries, but it really is a HUGE thing in my life.  To be able to navigate the world as it is today, make Godly decisions, be accountable and stay humble… these types of friends are IMPERATIVE as far as I’m concerned.

It think it requires a maturity too that I didn’t have years ago, in order to make yourself accountable to these good friends.  Just KNOWING that you ARE answerable to others, that you’ve ASKED others to pull you up if needed.  It does take a strong friendship to have someone tell you you’re heading down a bad path.. and take on that advice and heed it.

I big one for me that I know I’ve mentioned before is how much I dislike wives dissing their husband amongst other girlfriends.  Even when I lacked the spiritual maturity I’m still working to improve today, it never sat well with me when women would do this.  Way back then, I didn’t even have a grasp of the spiritual implications & responsibilities of our role as a wife (pretty embarrassing to admit it, but I know I need to focus on the positive that at least I have that understanding now and can move forward in that understanding).

I definitely benefit from like minded female friends (wives) around me, and by the same token, struggle a little when around women that do put their husbands down.  It’s not just the obvious of ‘if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all” but the realisation (& then constant reminder) that we are to be our Husband’s greatest supporter.  (even when they’re being a total Jackass.)  I think what maybe others don’t understand about it is that they assume that we just ‘condone’ rubbish behaviour from our husbands when we refuse to bad-mouth them, but our responsibility goes so much deeper than they imagine.  We need to be the one our husband will go to if he is struggling with an issue (possibly that issues is being a Jackass.. LOL)… and he’s not going to do that unless we have a great relationship in the first place.

From what I’ve seen over the years of broken relationships… so much infidelity comes about because someone took something they were struggling with to someone of the opposite sex, OTHER than their spouse.  Seeing this over the years has certainly brought it home to DH & I that we need to be able to go to each other when needed, coz if we don’t keep up that open comfortable rapport between each other, we may be tempted to take it to others … and that’s just a disaster waiting to happen.

So … to sum up… I am extremely grateful for the women that God has put in my life, because they are instrumental in helping me to be a Godly wife, Mother & Friend.

Blessings peeps !!!  xox

