So, here I am blogging about the Duggars again…  but I’m not really blogging abut the Duggars so much as sin itself, and the terrible consequences that can come from it.  Don’t get me wrong… I’m not feeling sorry for anyone today, but feeling for them in their brokenness.

d437b62c7b9e7d88f0c8b493282962d1

My heart breaks for Anna this morning.  She has only just a month ago given birth to her fourth child, and now after the scandal that hit earlier this year …which in fact she WAS aware of years before the world found out… she has been hit once again, but his time..  She was not in the know on this one.

I have seen this situation lived out in a friend, actually two friends..  and it hurts so much to watch, I can only imagine the agony of actually living it.

My thoughts go heavenward for Anna, Josh, their children and their entire extended family today as they go through this situation.  Of course the media has already begun to attack them in the most violent way, but I can only trust that they will be able to ignore that and lean into God like never before.

I know that as soon as we Christians talk about God’s forgiveness, the haters hit back with what a crutch that is, or that this sin is not forgivable, but we KNOW that it is, and in fact we need to KNOW that it is, or we would get bogged down in our own failings.

Psalm 103:12 (NIV)

as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

I also came across this in my limited research this morning, and thought it was quite a good reminder for all of us.

FIGHTING THE DAILY BATTLE

To overcome the temptations you will continually face, follow God’s simple plan:

  • Stand firm against temptation (James 4:7; 1 Pet. 5:6-9; 2 Tim. 2:22).
  • Confess your sins to a brother or sister in Christ and pray to be healed (James 5:16).
  • Hide God’s Word in your heart (Psalm 119:11), trusting in its strength (Heb. 4:12).
  • Minister to God with sacrifices of praise (Heb. 13:15) until you are filled with the peace and joy of the Lord (Isaiah 26:3).

Blessings !!! xox

