swimmingly

And so the school year has begun and is chugging along swimmingly.  There were some concerns with wrapping our minds around a new curriculum and a new way to have it delivered, but after giving ourselves a week to get used to it, it’s actually only taken a day or two.  Praise God for that !!!

Sidenote… I am so chuffed that my HS days is up in the 400s…  only because when I started this journey two years ago, I would read so many other HS blogs and see these big numbers and think it would be sooooooo long before we reached them… and now we’re up in these numbers.  Cool much !!

Miss 14 has a part work day through the school week, so she will need to juggle her weeks school workload around in order to accomodate.  By the looks of the timetable, it shouldn’t be too difficult at all.

The kiddos are already enjoying the interaction with other students (& their teachers), via class discussions, message boards and direct message.   It’ll be fantastic to attend the first activity day and put some faces to names.  I’ve registered for the swimming carnival in a few weeks, so that’ll be their first opportuity in person to meet other students & teachers etc.

Dear friends of ours are diving into this on-line curriculum this year also, so it’s so great to have someone to bounce things off, find out how they found this, that or the other.  Once again, God’s timing & placement are awesome !

Master 10 is still on the ACE curriculum and will remain on it for this school year before getting on board with DE also.  There will be some major benefits to this though, as it gives me more time to spend with him when needed.

My own studies haven’t begun as yet, which I’m glad of as this week was one where I needed to be switched on completley to what was going on with the kids.  So many “Mum, can you help me with this please.”.  It would have done my head in to be trying to wrap my head around my own study on top of that.

I am, however, really hoping the my study interface is very similar to theirs.  That would make things very easy, and make for a very smooth transition into full-time study for me.

I’ll have to get cracking on it as soon as it’s made avaialble to me though, as I still have the set 10wk term, same as the kiddos do.  However, I do have the freedom of being able to put study time in in the evenings, so that will be great uninterupted study time for me.

OK… that’s it from me for now.

Blessings xox

  1. What did I learn/was I reminded of today?  

The first week of the school year is a rollercoaster.

2. What scripture did I soak in today?

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.  Psalm 1:3

 

