Hi all !!

It’s Friday afternoon ….  schoolwork is complete (well, Miss 15 is still going, but hey, she NEVER stops working), the weekend is so close I can taste it.   Youth group for the kiddos tonight means DATE NIGHT for me & DH !!  YAY !!

This week, I posted this pic on my FB page, marking having lost 5kgs.

13315628_10154259302664540_1692590887027485877_n

It’s been quite the head game for me when it comes to numbers.  I fight against the urge to jump on those scales every morning, but I’m getting better and better at sticking to my PTs suggestion of weighing myself only on Day 6 of each month.  I’ve actually not been on the scales since day 6 of last month, so I’m super excited to find out if my very late 5kg lost post was actually quite conservative.

Last time, I was ‘losing weight’, not getting healthy … and that’s the big difference.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I would have been getting fitter in the process, but all I basically did was walk or run, with the weekly bootcamp session thrown in.  I didn’t do much at all in the way of weight training.  So, I got the result I was after, I lost 10kgs in about 4months, but only looked thinner… I had little to no definition.

This time, that number on the scales is going down slower, but I’m not just burning fat, but replacing it with hard core muscle baby !!!!!  I’ve gotta say.. I love the definition I’m getting.  I’ve said it before… toned upper arms is something I really love… and I’m getting closer and closer to being happy with it.  (just in time to cover it up with long sleeves for winter… ha ha)

The weight bench I got for Mother’s Day has been great.  (However sometimes when I’m actually out here I hate it a tiny bit).  I can cover so many different muscle groups in one session, it’s awesome !!  I talk to The Lord a fair bit during longer periods (like rowing) or when I’m struggling to get those last 5 reps in.  I simply DECLARE that I can get them done… and what do you know… I do !  It’s quite interesting finding out what makes you sore the next day, and what doesn’t.  Apparently it’s just about different muscle groups and some hurt more than others, but I can’t help thinking that if I don’t feel it the next day, I didn’t work hard enough.  This is a good mind-set as it just makes me work harder next time.

I’ve already gotten into my first ‘goal dress’, but the funny thing was that once I was in it, I actually didn’t like it much anymore, so onto eBay it goes.  LOL. (Don’t worry, I did wear it out once.)   Isn’t it funny that you get into these ‘goal’ items, but that means you’re ‘growing out’ of those favorite jeans…  I must say, I’m still going the belt route with my fav jeans.. I just can’t give them up yet.  ha ha.

I’m still having fun ‘healthifying’ my tried and true recipes for my family.  A lot of the time it just means swapping out white potato for sweet potato, or pasta for salad etc, but I’ve also had some fun playing with my lasagna recipe.  The idea actually came from my sister, but I used lavash bread in place of the lasagna sheets.. and it was devine !!!  She also gave me the idea of making the Bechamel sauce with a cauliflower base.  I’ve heard from a few people that it’s delicious…. and such a healthier alternative to having all that milk & flour.

My Thermomix, aka Trixie, has churned out some yummy healthy meals too which has been great.  The bolognese sauce for my lasagna was made in Trixie and was made with only healthy ingredients.  I know I said this about my Belini, but it’s amazing how flavoursome the meals are, being cooked with the thermo method.  You actually use few ingredients, and what you do use is completely natural.  I’m able to put so many vegetables in that the kids would normally balk at, like mushrooms, celery & squash.

Trixie

I’ve also loved being able to plate up a full healthy meal to my family when the ENTRIE thing… meat, vegetables and a sauce were made in Trixie.. and all simultaneously.  I just LOVE it !! The kids (who are the washer-uppers in our house as our dishwasher died a couple of years ago and we are yet to replace it) love when I cook in Trixie as it’s reduces the amount they have to wash up.

I never thought I’d be a big advocate of the $2.300 kitchen appliance to be honest, which is why I bought the $700 Belini first and then only upgraded after knowing that I loved the thermo cooking method.  But, now having had it for a few weeks and having made loads of things in it, I would seriously highly recommend it. It seriously is true that you’ll save money when you have one, due to reducing the amount of processed items you buy.

AND it can’t be ignored that is has helped me no end as far as serving up healthy dinners.  My Trixie is definitely helping in the process of shrinking my temple.  BUT (Yes, I do love putting words of emphasis in capitals… sorry, not sorry) while my earthly tent is shrinking, I gotta tell you all, my spiritual tent is GROWING !!!!  Remember I blogged about my big fur coat prophecy…  well I’ve continued to ask for expansion, (enlarge my territory.. 1 Chronicles 4:10) and while it’s come with some pain & many tears, I continue to grow in The Lord, loving my time spent with Him, and learning all He has to teach me.

I’m super dooper excited to share with you all that after nearly a year of planning on where my ‘War Room’ would be in my house, I’ve finally done it !!!  I wanted somewhere where I could go regularly, spend time with The Lord where I specifically focus on the needs of my loved ones.  I haven’t gotten to getting my ‘war plan’ up on the wall as yet, but that is on my wknd list for this very wknd.  Can’t wait….. super excited & expectant !!!

OK peeps.  Have a fantastic weekend…. Press in to The Lord… You’ll always be blown away by what he does with your time together.

Blessings xx

