Hiya blog readers….  It’s been a little while I know, but after my exciting trip to Adelaide with my sis, my lovely DH shared the flu with me…. and yes, it was actually the flu..not just a bad cold.  It’s a pet peeve of mine when people have a slight runny nose and tell everyone they have the flu…. um, no you don’t, suck it up cupcake and put some vicks on it.  :0)  When you’ve had the full blown flu, you know about it.  :0(

Anyway, so I’m nearly 100% better… maybe I’m at 98%, still a lingering cough happening, but I’ve been able to knock out 3 half decent PT sessions, so I feel ok about it.

However, last week, when I was trying to get back into my fitness routine, it was a hard slog…..  low on energy etc. It was a complete head game I’m telling you…. I seriously had to fight the feelings of having completely fallen off the healthy lifestyle wagon, having to resort to midday naps, and the occasional naughty comfort food.  (darn those fundraising Freddo frogs for Miss 15’s dance comps).  While I knew I’d only missed 3 PT sessions all up and a few nightly walks, I honestly felt like I had stepped back 6mths when it came to my fitness level.

I had to constantly remind myself that it was just a blip in the timeline and I was well on the way to being 100% back on track.  As I improved physically, I was able to better grab hold of those negative thoughts and toss them to the kerb.

Perhaps it’s perfect timing that my lovely PT is beginning a 6wk challenge t’row.  Other clients of hers are going to ban together to achieve great things in the next 6wks.  To say “I can’t wait!” is an understatement.  To add to my forward momentum, I’ve also committed to running/walking/cycling/elliptical’ing 5kms per day for the entire month of July.  It’s a cause in aid of a Local Pastor’s wife who is battling brain cancer at present.  I’ve done the 5kms locally yesterday and today, but I’m sure I’ll have to resort to trustie Ellie the Elliptical on days when I just don’t have the 40mins to get out and walk it.  Here is the gorgeous view from yesterday and today on my walk.

I must say, when I was out on my walk today, joined by Master 11, I was in awe of the beauty in my local suburb.  It was mid afternoon, maybe 22degrees, a thousand and one Lorikeets in the many trees… and I couldn’t help but thank God for this wonderful blessing, to be able to not only have this beauty to walk amongst, but to actually live in this area. 

It brought to mind some of the lyrics from Hillsongs ‘Transfiguration’….

Holy is the Lord revealed before my eyes

And my burning heart can scarcely take it in
As I behold your beauty with unworthy eyes
The only song my soul can find to sing
Is Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah my KingWhile marvelling at my surrounds, God reminded me that I’M beautiful too.  Genesis 1:27 says So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.   Ephesian 2:10 tells us that we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  When thinking on this, it really did remind me that even when things seem very difficult (it’s election day today here in Australia), God has it all in hand.  When we know He can create gorgeous sunsets and settings like those two I took on my walks, it’s really not much to trust that He has a little thing like the political situation in hand.     :0)
Back to fitness (aka Respecting the temple), I also made a purchase on Thursday of two new fitness friends (actually they’re identical twins)….   2 x 4kg kettle bells.  I’ve got a 6kg slam ball, a 6kg kettle bell and loads of dumb-bells, but I didn’t have two weight of equal weight to squat with etc, so I was excited to get these two new workout buddies.  They don’t talk much, but hey… you gotta take what you can get, right.  LOL.

Ok peeps….  it’s off to bed for me…. well, after I check out the latest poling numbers for today’s federal election.  It’s really similar to when a disaster happens around the world…..  the twin towers, the lindt cafe etc …. you want to turn it off and go do something constructive with your time (like sleeping), but you just can’t turn away.

Blessings Peeps !!!!

xox

 

