So, it’s well & truly time for a fitness blog update !!

I am in week 6 of the 6wk Winter challenge with my lovely PT, Mel.  I am, overall, very happy with the challenge as I have noticed positive changes in my body shape and muscle mass, as well as great improvements in how clothes fit and feel.  I asked DH to assess the improvement in my thighs and he dared to use the term ‘Thunder thighs’.. Um, no honey…. just NO !!!  I know he did mean it in a very positive way, so it’s all good, but still….  careful with word choices peeps.  ha ha.

As the title suggests, the fitness and healthy living business is, and will continue to be, a head-game.  I got on the scales earlier this week and put myself in a frump for the rest of the morning as I wasn’t as happy with the result as I could have been.  I need to learn to STOP OBSESSING ABOUT THE NUMBER.  It really means nothing anyway, but it still continues to plague me, so onto the prayer list it goes for help in this area.

In order to achieve the results I’m after, we changed my PT sessions from one strength and one boxing sesh, to two strength training sessions per week.  I’ve really noticed the difference in toning, so this is a great thing.  I’ve also got a PT sesh in the bank from being unwell last week, so I’m really looking forward to having a 3PT session week next week.

One of the reasons my thighs are coming along well will be because I do do a fair amount of wall sits & squats.  & trust me, the enjoyment shown in this pic is a put on….. it’s so not fun.   I’m also starting to see real definition in my upper arms, which was one of my main goals from the get-go, so I’m pretty happy with that.  I must say, while I’ve improved in my ability to do push-ups (quantity wise), I can’t say I’m anywhere near perfecting technique.  This is a little disappointing, but hey, I’ve got heaps of time to work on them if I want to keep and improve on the toning I already have achieved.

13940112_10154450956844540_533414349_o13939971_10154451062274540_643493308_o

I have been doing a food diary during the 6wk challenge also and it’s proven very helpful this week as my PT was able to point out that I had a few too many treats last week.  You really don’t see them adding up over the week.. and I was simply filling it all out and then handing it to her…not actually looking back on it myself.  When I got the txt message that listed all the things I had in the week, it was like…  “OK then… that was way naughty.”.  I’ll defs be keeping up the food diary habit and looking over it as I go thru the week, so as to keep on top of what I have and haven’t had.  That way, I can make good decisions as to whether I can have that treat or not.  We did go to the EKKA on Sunday (blog post coming), which was part of my naughtiness when it comes to treats, but there were a bit too much treat eating in the week leading up to it too.  Lesson learnt !!!  :0)

I’ve been reading up a lot about Metabolism too in the last few days. It’s a fascinating subject to say the least.  Simply knowing that it’s not just about food and exercise, but also sleep, that plays into your successful and on-going fitness journey.  I keep getting pulled back to the benefits of green tea….. if only I didn’t hate drinking it quite so much.  I really need to shake up my breakfast more….. in two ways… The first is to have it earlier….. to kick start the day well.. and also to have more variation.  Well, actually it would be an improvement for me to have ANY variation. I just love me weetbix & yoghurt so much that I find it hard to change it up.  I defs thinks it’s a habit thing too (& some laziness at actually getting out a pan and cooking something. ha ha).  I really struggle with the idea of eating eggs in the morning.  However, avocado & feta smash on pumpkin seed bread… I could defs do that some mornings.  Now… to just do it !!

The head-game silliness can hit you at any time really, so the great breakfast choices are so important.  That way, when you get those negative thoughts, telling you that you’re not doing a good job, that you’re not getting results… can be kicked to the kerb easily.  I find that really works for me.  If I can look back on my day and see that my food intake, water consumption and exercise have been on pointe, then I can tell the enemy where to go with his insinuations.   (& have a little happy dance on his face when I tell him he’s UNDER MY FEET!!)

I also discovered Revelation Wellness with Alisa Keaton on both Facebook and iTunes this week.  What a fantastic resource.  I can’t wait to listen to more of their podcasts.  Having Jesus in the workout/fitness journey equation is something I’ve always done, so it’s great to find a trainer/group that fully embraces that concept.  I’ve had some particularly amazeballs times with The Lord during my workouts on my own this week.

OK…  Great to catch up.  Keep on eye out in your inbox for a blog notification about my day at the EKKA very soon.. but first…. it’s WORKOUT TIME !!!  WOOT WOOT !!!

Blessings  xox

 

 

